A rise in childhood obesity is a real threat to health with an increasing number of children now classified as overweight. What are the causes of the problem and what measures can be taken to solve them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge of experience.

Obesity has become one of the most serious issues related to public health. Most physicians and people who belong to the healthcare field argue that measures have to be taken promptly in order to control this condition straightaway. Then, most strategies have been proposed to improve lifestyles and teach all communities the importance of following healthy habits. In this essay, I will explain some causes and solutions. To start with, it is well-known that there are many biological mechanisms which explain the addiction to junk food, mainly because most substances that are found in that type of food stimulate the areas of the brain in charge of pleasure by releasing some neurotransmitters, such as dopamine and serotonin. Additionally, the consumption of fast food is supported by most campaigns and advertisements that are shown daily to the public. For instance, in The United States, a junk food advertisement, which is sponsored by most big companies, namely Nestle, McDonalds, Burger King, CocaCola, etc., is displayed on television every 30 seconds Based on the aforementioned, obesity has been considered a pandemic illness that should be controlled, not only because of its immediate impact on daily tasks by leading to fatigue and reducing people’s performances but also due to the ever-increasing prevalence of chronic diseases, such as primary hypertension, diabetes, heart attack, and stroke. Currently, some solutions have been stipulated and the widespread education of proper lifestyles given by implementing enjoyable methods to exercise and follow a healthy diet has been one of the most successful. For example, in Colombia, most universities have changed their curriculums to one in which their students have to take at least two elective classes related to working out and healthy cuisines. To sum up, governors must take into consideration the importance of following good habits because of their direct relationship with chronic diseases. Therefore, although leisure activities are important and have to be present in families, many measures should be implemented to promote health and prevent diseases.