Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's age, social media has deeply infiltrated everyone's life and is believed to replace our face-to-face interaction. From my perspective, the advantages of being bullied on the Internet and the reduction in assessing direct contacts eclipse the advantages of connecting people. On the one hand, the primary beneficial factor of using social media is that it can connect people to be closer. This is because there are loads of networking sites allowing individuals with similar senses of interests to have a chat with each other. Therefore, it will gradually form many positive relationships from discussing a topic together. For example, millions of bonds have been created, thanks to Facebook, which permits users to communicate with others. On the other hand, the disadvantage of being the victim of cypher bullying needs to be considered. As there has been a limitation in strict rules and regulations in managing individuals' speech, people can freely express their opinions on social media regardless of toxic contents in them which absolutely pose an adverse influence on the ones suffering. For that reason, this lack of censorship leads to plenty of problems relating to one's welfare, such as stress and depression. Furthermore, the overuse of social media can also be the cause of the importance's downplay of direct contact. When the screen time is far too high, users will get used to living in the virtual world which can make them feel isolated from real-life conversations due to the loss of necessary communication skills. Therefore, people will not prioritize and notice the significance of face-to-face interaction anymore. In conclusion, although social media brings about the benefit of bonding strangers to become closer, the downsides of social media replacing direct conversations are more significant than the good side's because of the above-mentioned ideas.