Some people believe that studying at college or university is important for a successful career. Others think that it is better to quit school and find work to gain experience for a successful professional life. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are some arguments regarding the option to pursue a higher degree or immediately seek for job right away after high school for a better career. Although it might be a long process, I firmly believe that getting a degree is a better alternative to becoming a successful person. People who are against pursuing their higher education and choose to become workers as soon as possible may perceive that school is an expensive investment. Henceforth, for some people, especially underprivileged ones, the school tuition and other additional needs might become a burden. For instance, in developing countries such as Indonesia, the annual college cost is relatively beyond the salary of low-income parents. Thus, most of them cannot afford their children’s tuition fees and have to drop out off school, so their children can immediately gain income from being a blue-collar worker that does not require high education. Although it arguably will gain more experience earlier than those who are getting their degree, in my personal opinion, this perspective is concerning for their long-term life. In the long-run, their income will remain stagnant due to a lack of knowledge that can only be acquired through minimum undergraduate study. On the other hand, other groups argue that going to university is paramount for the future career. The inspirational stories from those successful people who come from low-economic status have one thing in common: they are prioritizing to pursue their higher education no matter what obstacles that might occur. Although they have to sacrifice more, they believe it might be beneficial to change their future. I totally agree with this view as some skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, and networking will be developed well in college. This competencies are needed to get a better career and income in the future. In conclusion, finishing higher education might be burdening due to the drawbacks, such as education payment issues. However, prioritizing higher education proved to be advantageous as it will bolster important knowledge and skills needed for a better career in the future.