Today digital technology allows people to share all aspects of their lives on social media. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this generation where practically everything revolves around technology, the majority of people from around the world have full access to it. Surely, posting anything about their life’s journeys is quite prevalent. I will be exploring and sharing my opinion on this. Admittedly, having absolute strangers know about your personal information that should not be known through screens is petrifying. Citizens are not aware enough of the consequences of this action. They keep updating their lives without thinking about terrible things that could happen, for instance, uploading pictures of children in their possession; they might be seen by mentally dangerous people, especially pedophiles. Additionally, always updating yourselves or being on social media platforms too often makes people compare themselves to others. This can possibly cause low self-esteem, stress, depression, and pressure to look flawless instead of being real. Although it has a lot of disadvantages, fortunately, there are also some good sides if it is used appropriately and with knowledge. They are able to keep invaluable and unforgettable events of their lives as memories or stay in touch with their friends and families. Other than what has been stated previously, it is one of the methods to keep themselves entertained, such as looking up people whom they admire, famous restaurants they want to visit, daily outfit inspiration, dramas, or even daily news, based on one’s preference. In conclusion, it has both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, even if it provides us with a great amount of advantages, the negative effects are stronger and cannot be ignored at all.