In the past, knowledge was stored in books. Today, people stored knowledge on the Internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the development of technology, the way people store knowledge have driven from conventional to online platforms. Therefore, the merits of better accessibility and vast references outweigh the demerits of its reliability. It must be acknowledged that online foundations such as the Internet or social media can be accessed easily with ordinary technological gadgets like phones and tablets. Hence, the majority of people can take advantage of it regardless of location and social status, approaching humankind’s knowledge flexibly and liberally. This can directly contribute to the world’s literacy due to the fact that every individual is capable of self-studying, therefore broadening their opportunities for well-paid careers and promotion. In fact, governments can promote self-learning by preparing essential tools and classes for residents to take them online. However, its authenticity is still a question among critics, many people are aware that this knowledge can be fake and, thereby, affect the learners detrimentally as it can form false cognition and misconception. Nevertheless, governments can interfere in this issue by raising dwellers’ awareness of fake websites which contain unproven information so residents are capable of differentiating between real and fake news. By implementing these policies, people will have a grasp of cyber fraud and therefore not fall into traps again. Taking all points into conclusion, the drawbacks of potential cyber frauds are outweighed by the benefits of numerous ways of connection and a wide range of materials. Thus, governments should encourage their citizens to utilise mobile phones and electric devices to study online as alternatives to improve their living conditions.