Write about the following topic: In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern day and age, high school students face a challenging decision after graduation that is what they should do next? Nowadays, more and more youngsters apply to technical institutions where they learn a career by practising it hands-on rather than seeking tertiary education at university. I believe that both paths offer a lot to the young generation and choosing either one depends on their needs and desires. Bachelor's degrees and higher qualifications are essential in some professions such as engineering, medical-related practices and fields of science. Thus, students who desire to have such professions, it is expected they focus on academic subjects in school and graduate with high GPAs in order to apply to a highly esteemed university and build their qualifications for their dream job. For instance, to become a medical doctor a person needs a seven-year university program and then a one-year internship before becoming an independent practitioner. However, while some students favour academia and science, others find themselves in manual skills and professions such as carpentering, sewing or a career in art and music which need different education programs which are based on teaching the basic skills while working and producing products under supervision. Also, in these programs, students are able to work and have an income to support themselves while building a career. For example, a friend of mine who is now a successful businesswoman, went to a cooking academy to pursue her passion for baking and started to sell her cakes online while she was in school. In conclusion, choosing a career path depends on the person's choice and passion. Tertiary education and work-based training are merely tools to enable young people to achieve their goals and have their dream jobs.