In some countries, the voting age is 16 while in others, it is 18 or higher. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of a lower voting age and give your opinion.

In spite of technological advancement and modern society, some people think the age of 16 is appropriate to participate in an election, while others say voting participants should be 18 and above. This essay firmly believes that the downsides of the immaturity of the young, and the manipulation of political power from the politicians outweigh the benefit of the educational way towards the young generation. The most disadvantageous factor of voting age is that young adults are currently inexperienced in having voting rights. In other words, young people are not mature and responsible enough to elect good politicians to control the countries. In addition, they lack knowledge and how to evaluate personality traits and horizons of people although they always get access to global news. As a consequence, if voting rights were given to adolescents, it would be disastrous issues to the entire political system of a nation due to the wrong decisions when electing ineffective and unprofessional candidates who will manage the whole country. Thus, there is a decline in national development based on the chaotic management of a person voted by the young. Some critics, however, assume that this is one of the best ways to attract and educate the young generation about the political situation in their nations. They believe that 16-year-old individuals should have practical lessons in voting rights and civic engagement to broaden their horizons about state sovereignty. This point has credibility, yet the young have no fully developed mindset about basic knowledge, leading to the difficulty in being alerted to suffrage. Asian countries are prime examples, where the majority of authorities enforced the policies of allowing people aged over 18 years old to vote on the perception of maturity and accountability in these ages. From this writer’s perspective, another advantage worth considering is that young people are easily manipulated to help high-ranking politicians. This is because 16-year-old adolescents are recently indifferent to the governmental circumstance, and who has the most powerful mastery on account of boring information. With this in mind, many people aged sixteen years old would cast their ballot for a person who will give them many positive policies despite their corruption. Take Vietnam as a pertinent example, where the young constituency turns a blind eye to politics and cannot have the right vote for people to enhance internal development in all fields. Taking all points into account, the advantage of political lectures for young people is outweighed by the drawbacks of inexperience and being easily manipulated by politicians. Therefore, it should have been demonstrated that it is less favorable for young adults to have voting rights in the legislation.