Some people think that modern communication technology is having a negative effect on social relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern age, the mass of people believe that state-of-the-art technological methods which are used for communication can impinge on social rapport. This writer totally agrees with that statement due to the lack of interaction and emotion it causes. It is vital to understand that by using social networking sites, individuals will easily stay in touch with others and connect with those ones through message apps. However, it will discourage real-life interaction between individuals, thus this phenomenon will lead to a lack of connection. To exemplify, citizens just only communicate with people through online messages, which means they will not know the other's voice or looks, also do not have contact with them. Hence, inhabitants will lose direct interaction if they depend too much on social media, which can affect their relationships in society. It should also be considered that online messages cannot convey all the emotions and thoughts of the users, so the receivers will not be able to predict other's feelings to adjust their actions. Because of that, transmission technology sometimes causes misunderstanding among citizens, which can negatively affect the rapport between them. Take a record on a BBC as a good example, it showed that there were various reasons for couples to break up, moreover, misinterpretation through communication methods is responsible for 70%. Therefore, not knowing each other well while using online applications is also a factor that can have a detrimental impact on an individual's partnership. To conclude, although there are different explanations to say that up-to-date communication appliances can benefit the users, I believe that the drawbacks such as misunderstanding and reduction in intercommunication can influence one's friendship in a negative way.