In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehical will be passenger. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Artificial Intelligence is already dominating almost all fields around the world. Driverless vehicles would be one of the aspects of technological advancements, which we could see in the near future, and these vehicles would be responsible for carrying people who are travelling from one place to another. In my opinion, the positives of this would be more than the negatives that I will discuss in my essay. The first and foremost benefit of driverless cars would be less number of accidents. We have seen that in many countries the percentage of accidents is increasing every day, and this leads to major injuries and an increased mortality rate. However, automated vehicles would be perfect for driving as there would not be any chance of drink and driving or any kind of negligence that would lead to deadly accidents. For example, in China, this trend has already started, and there are so many metro trains which are driverless. In addition, this would also result in lower crime rates and more safety. There are so many cases in various countries where taxi or bus drivers take advantage of passengers and indulge in crimes like stealing, robbery, and in fact rape. For instance, in India in 2012, there was a case called Nirbhaya that happened on a bus where the bus driver raped a woman to death because she was alone on the bus. On the contrary, if we talk about the drawbacks of driverless vehicles then the main problem would be increased unemployment. When all vehicles would drive from one place to another on their own then they would be fully automated, which clearly shows that there would be no need for people to drive them. For example, many people are employed as bus, train, and taxi drivers which assist people to commute, and this way, they are earning money for survival. Unemployment would eventually lead to less consumerism and less economic growth. In conclusion, although driverless cars have negatives like underemployment, I am still convinced that fewer accidents and lower crime rates have more weight than drawbacks.