Some people believe that individuals can do little to improve the environment, while others think that individuals have a significant role in protecting the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, environmental problems have been on the rise around the globe due to many factors. Although many people think that individuals can do little to improve the environment, I believe that each and every person can participate in protecting the environment by simply making minor changes to their daily routines. On the one hand, individuals can and do have the potential to minimize the amount of harm they may cause to the environment by adopting environment-conscious habits. For example, riding a bicycle to work instead of driving a car will help in reducing air pollution. Also, recycling plastic or reusing plastic cans instead of throwing them away after a single use is an effective method in limiting plastic waste in dumpsters. Given that plastic is the primary pollutant of marine and land, reducing its usage will yield benefits to our planet. On the other hand, many are convinced that individual efforts are pointless in pollution prevention since controlling the major sources of environmental damage lies in the hand of governments / the higher authorities. For instance, Factories' harmful emissions can solely be controlled if the government regulates it with specific laws. In addition to imposing high fines on companies that are not complying with these regulations to encourage them to adopt eco-friendly systems. Private car ownership in large cities can only be restricted by the government as well and reducing the number of these vehicles is crucial to enhance the air quality in these urban areas. In conclusion, despite the fact that governments may seem to have the upper hand in putting an end to various environmental issues, working together is necessary to see tangible changes. It is everyone’s responsibility to keep our planet clean and in its best condition.