Developing the economy will always damage the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often claimed that human activity severely influences the environment due to plants, cars and production. The authorities make a significant choice between environment and economic growth in order not to fall behind more economically-developed countries. From my point of view, it is almost impossible to develop an economy without negative effects on ecology now. Hence, firms care only about the profit now. In fact, nowadays many countries are concerned with ecology. Therefore, governments unite in international organizations which encourage companies to follow eco-rules in order to make saving the planet the main priority rather than profit. Moreover, investors value such companies higher on the market. As a result, the economy can develop in an ecologically friendly way. However, huge companies can allow themselves to damage the environment without consequences which stops their growth now. For instance, in 2010 approximately 4.9 million barrels of oil were released into the ocean by BP. This incident became one of the largest oil spills in history and caused significant ecological damage to marine fauna and flora. However, despite social anxiety about this situation, the company did not stop developing. In conclusion, it is important to recognize that despite the existence of numerous 'green' organizations and the attention given by governments to ecological problems, certain companies will always seek ways to avoid regulations and prioritize profit, even at the expense of environmental damage. Therefore, developing the economy will always damage the environment. And I guess the nearest future will not bring large changes in this issue.