less and less parents these days are smacking their children. some people think that this is leading to a generation of misbehaved children. do you agree or disagree with this statement?

it has been long believed that human behaviors are shaped based on conditioning. this means that inappropriate behaviors should be eliminated through negative reinforcement while acceptable traits need to be maintained through positive reinforcement. due to this reason, many parents in the past used to punish their children physically. however, these days corporal punishment is being used less frequently, and therefore some people think that this will contribute to a generation of misbehaved children. I'm afraid I have to disagree with this point of view, and in the following essay, my ideas will be supported by some rationale and examples. firstly, recently, the idea that the basis of many adulthood personality and mental abnormalities is rooted in the way that children are treated in their early years of life has become a cornerstone for further research. this has led to the conducting of various studies, subsequently, showing that some psychiatric disorders such as anti-social personality behavior and oppositional defiant are associated with a history of being physically punished as children. in light of this, old disciplining methods should be revised. secondly, besides psychological sequela, corporal punishment can result in either inadvertent or deliberate physical trauma. all of us have heard stories with catastrophic endings in which the intention of the parents was to cause minor pain but somehow got complicated by some series of events, eventually leading to some serious injuries. moreover, when hitting children is socially accepted, some parents may feel to use more violent means of physical punishment, inflicting damage to the children's body well-being. on the other hand, it is believed by some that the level of fear from punishment required to stop some behaviors is not met by other means of punishment. they claim that unless children are deterred by the consequences of their unacceptable conduct, implementing healthy ones is nearly impossible. in conclusion, the right way to discipline children has always been a matter of debate. Although some people think that smacking is still an option, in my view, it should no longer be used as it can have both mental and physical outcomes.