Freshwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of this increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

An increase in water demand has increased in recent years as freshwater has been considered as a limited resource and has become a main problem in the world. In this essay, both reasons and solutions of this matter will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, there are several reasons why freshwater is now a global problem and one of the most significant is the carelessness of citizens. To explain in greater detail, many people still use an excessive amount of water in their household chores or in their lifestyles. Furthermore, in some countries, a number of water activities organised by the government are still being held and thus a large amount of water is used. To specifically demonstrate, in my country, Thailand, as we already know there are many countries all around the world that lack water, I can still see plenty of individuals open their taps during car washes, do the dishes, etc. In addition, the authorities just recently organised Songkran festival and used a ton of water in this event. On the other side of the coin, in order to tackle and address this problem, we need a high level of collaboration and cooperation between the governments and residents. To elaborate further, the states have to incentivise and encourage the public to highly pay attention to water usage. Moreover, people also need to pressure and discourage their governments from organising events that work on an excessive amount of water. An apt illustration of this is that in Japan, the government already launched upcoming and emerging campaigns about reducing water usage in households and if more than the maximum point, those households will be fined. Besides, when the government is trying to set events that use freshwater, citizens always voice and lodge complaints in order to stop those activities. At the end of the day, it is undeniable that water insufficiency these days become a vital issue in our world as some people still ignore their water -related activities. Therefore, we need an effective and productive synergy between the states and citizens to ease and mitigate this matter promptly.