The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries ,particularly developing countries. What are the causes of such hunting? What are the effects on the animals and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond .

Illegal hunting of wildlife is a rising practice, especially in developing countries. The reason for this trend is mainly profits and to hunt for sport. This can cause extinction and endangerment of species. The main cause of this practice is for profit. The hide and other parts of the animal are sold for a hefty price in the market. This forces one to hunt such sought-after animals as a source of profit. Elephant tusks and Rhino horns are examples of many desired merchandise. Another reason is to hunt for sport. A lot of hunters give large sums of money in order to poach the wildlife and take with them trophies to prove their worth. These trophies can be taxidermies or skins of the animals. This practice is causing endangerment and the extinction of some species. The Dodo, a flightless, feathered bird that lived during the 17th century, was poached to extinction. The black horned rhino has almost been hunted to extinction, with only a few kept in captivity. This causes an ecosystem disruption, since the extinction of one species can cause the growth and reduction of another species. For instance, the elimination of apex predators causes the population of herbivores to peak; as a result, there will be overgrazing, leading to soil erosion. However, this can be tackled; the government can pass strict laws forbidding the poaching of wildlife, and strict actions are to be taken against anyone who does not abide by the law. In some parts of Africa, poaching is forbidden, and the outlaw is sent to prison or hanged based on the judge's decision. To conclude, this trend to hunt illegally is caused by the desperation of people to earn money or as a source of entertainment. This approach results in the diminishing of wildlife species populations and can cause ecological imbalance. Therefore, regulations should be passed by the government, and strict actions should be taken against the outlaws.