Nowadays,people are choosing to socialise online rather than face-to-face. Is this a positive or negative development

It can not be denied that technological advancements have brought a diverse range of possibilities in every aspect of life, and they can also be seen in today’s online communication ways of individuals. Although they made it easier to keep in touch with loved ones, I believe It is a negative development due to a sense of isolation as well as blackmailing when sharing videos or photos. One serious problem caused by online socializing is that It could lead to isolation. In the past people would converse by meeting face-to-face in order to discuss their daily life instead of using virtual communication. That’s why, having been in a social group which gave them more opportunities to share ideas and events that occurred during their personal lives, never had they felt isolated from society. However, today’s generation is utilizing social media platforms such as Facebook,Instagram and Telegram without knowing the consequences which could pose the risk of isolation in the end. Another issue stemming from the use of virtual communication is blackmailing. What I mean by mentioning that is that when users share their personal photos or videos with their close friends via Telegram or WhatsApp, there seems to be risk involved, as they might change in the long term and use that shared privacy against them when they turn into enemies or rivals later. For example, when couples have a relationship, they tend to share some intimate photos or videos, thus making them closer. However, some people could use these personal belongings to frame loved ones, demanding money so that they will not post their photos and videos publicly which may eventually cause some embarrassment. Therefore, using social media to talk to friends or whomever may bring some threat to the private lives of individuals. By way of conclusion, even though social media platforms tend to favour people in some ways, I believe problems they cause such as isolation and framing mean they have not brought positive developments on most occasions.