Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

For nearly a hundred years, the world has been facing extreme environmental problems. It is a harsh period for all species living on earth, numerous plants and animals are becoming extinct, and the ecology balance is under threat. Some believe that the main environmental problem the world facing now is the loss of biodiversity, but others argue that there are more crucial problems to the earth. From my perspective, I agree with the former. Over hundreds of millions of years, the world ’s ecosystem has its own cycles. The cycles of living include every different species on the earth, thus all plants and animals, either living on land or in water, are important. With more species becoming extinct nowadays, the cycles have been damaged, the balance is no longer balanced. At the same time, due to the integrity of the world ecosystem, collective consequences among plants and animals have occurred. For example, the northwest part of China was once endless grassland where rabbits, wolves and sheep lived. But as the number of wolves decreased quickly, the number of rabbits and sheep rocketed. Since their food are mainly grass, the grassland demised, making it a desert where just a few species could live. In a word, the loss of one species could be extremely destructive to the world. In contrast, there are indeed more environmental problems that we cannot ignore. But the actual reasons for these problems, including global warming and the greenhouse effect, are closely related or even caused by the loss of biodiversity. So, the extinction of animals and plants is clearly more important than others. To conclude, the world is facing a great deal of problems, each is important to the whole ecosystem. But, the loss of biodiversity is the crucial problem of the earth which people have to grasp.