Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The majority holds a belief that there is a large amount of the budget was spent on preserving some aged constructions, while the others argue that the contemporary buildings need to be replaced with the old ones. The writer of this essay agrees with the first statement due to raising residents' awareness about historical value as well as developing the internal economy. Enhancing the locals ' recognition of the value of history is one of the core reasons why authorities need to protect old buildings. This is to say, nowadays, many youngsters and older people tend to misunderstand historical values due to the way of teaching at school being ineffective, just only through the books' theories and lack of exercise or trips. However, spending money to look after old buildings and encouraging the locals to spend their time for travel in these places can enlighten their knowledge of the history and they can give their hands to protect these old buildings. Take Finland as an example, all the residents of this country are always having an awareness of protecting old buildings by the government providing free tickets for locals to travel to these places. Another factor which also contributes to maintaining the aged building is improving the country's economy. To simplify this statement, old buildings can be used for tourist attractions, which means they can provide more jobs for the locals such as sellers or tour guides. Moreover, it also can tighten the travel diplomatic ties with many countries by appealing to numerous foreign tourists through images or news. For instance, according to BBC News, Thailand is a country whose travelling economics and the number of foreign travellers both experienced an upward trend in the last 10 years, respectively. Thus, instead of seeing a replacement for modern constructions, governments need to preserve the old buildings because it can bring many benefits to the country such as improving locals ' consciousness of history value as well as enhancing the internal economy.