Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people say that it is beneficial for school children to participate in competitive sports from the point of view of education whereas others believe that it has negative impacts on them. Although there are some negative aspects of competing in sports, I believe that the benefits are more significant to educating school children than the drawbacks, especially when it comes to playing sports as a team. Competitive sports can be detrimental mentally and physically for teenagers and it might cause some negative results. This is because the excess motivation towards triumph can lead young people to force themselves to practice harder, resulting in hurting themselves without noticing it. For example, according to the NHK sports programme broadcast in 2010, 80% of high schoolers who belonged to soccer or baseball teams have experienced anxiety and depression as well as arthritis. However, this can be mitigated if their mentors and coaches can instil a method of controlling their emotions and offer physical and mental care to them. Turning to some of the upsides to competition in sports, we can see a great number of benefits in that kind of sport. One of the good examples is that it can enhance a sense of camaraderie within a team. That is to say, the feeling of winning against the opposite team can make teammates cooperate together and create a stronger bond between them. This could also improve the performance of each member, leading the possibility of winning to become more realistic. In Japan, most of the high schools actually have some competitive sports such as basketball and baseball in PE classes. This allows Japanese teenagers to learn about how essential to cooperate with each other is to win a game in sports. In conclusion, it is argued that we should have competitive sports in school for the youth in terms of education. Even though there are some downsides to them, I believe that the upsides to that kind of sport should contribute positively to the school's education.