Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As technology develops, there is a growing tendency for distance learning from the Internet in universities. Thus, there exists a debate about whether the merits of the trend are superior to its demerits. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the proponents of the advantages which outweigh the drawbacks since the tendency brings about flexibility and convenience to both students and teachers. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of distance learning is that it breaks the time and geographic restrictions. Moreover, both pupils and professors save their time on transport. For example, the development solves the problem when people cannot go out such as the period of Covid19 pandemic. Besides, it gives students around the world studying opportunities and geographic limits will no longer stop a person's learning process. Hence, learning from the Internet indeed contributes to enhancing the right to education. At the other end of the spectrum, students may be distracted through online classes. Unlike traditional ways of learning, students have relatively more chances to do whatever they want through online courses since they are not supervised by teachers. Furthermore, there may be a higher possibility of cheating because everyone is hidden by the screen. However, individuals should be primarily responsible for their well-being. Therefore, students need to optimally reveal their initiatives by obeying the rules. To sum up, despite the fact that distance learning from the Internet has some shortcomings like pupils easily get distracted and cheat, its benefits of resolving the time and geographic limitations cannot be denied. Therefore, learners need to cherish the convenience and properly use the development to elevate studying. In terms of the listed reasons, the advantages of online learning exceed its disadvantages.