Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Whether human behavior is a result of genetic factors more than an environmental influence has become a hotly debated topic nowadays. While some studies have proved that all our reactions can be fully explained by the genome, our society is established on the belief that individuals are products of the circumstances they experience. Behaviorism theory claims that the environment influences the most. According to this concept, people’s personality is a result of what they learn through interaction with the environment they are living in. In favor of this theory may be the fact that Diego Maradona, without having great physical potential, compared to his peers, became the biggest football player through hard work and dedication. The big opponent of the aforementioned concept is Professor Robert Sapolsky, who argues that human behavior has a biological explanation. According to his approach, people have no control as they have been programmed by evolution. Furthermore, based on the characteristics they are born with they already have their unique personality. For example, the study of two twins, who grew up in different adopted families, but somehow chose the same profession and gave their kids the same names, proves his theory. In my opinion, it is very hard to point out what has the greater impact, as it is very hard to distinguish them. Because people normally grow up in their families and copy the behavior that they see from their parents, it is difficult to analyze if it comes from the environment or is genetically programmed. To conclude, taking into consideration all the facts described above, it is still hard to say whether nature or nurture has a bigger impact, as there is not enough data available and particular cases could be exceptions and not rules.