People who read for pleasure in their free time have a better imagination than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the topic of whether watching television or reading books have more effective implications on stimulating human minds has become a focal point of public attention, spreading to diverse debates, discussions, and contrast perspectives. While this topic may seem sophisticated and multifaceted, I firmly subscribe to the view that consuming books has immense impacts on the progress of imagination. This essay would delve into my viewpoint and provide a clear analysis associated with this topic. Initially, it would not be an overstatement to announce that watching TV fosters viewers’ creative cognition since this platform provides a wide range of vibrant and motion images. Thereby, consuming programs on TV permits people to boost their creativity through comprehending the content with colorful illustrations. However, watching TV confines the development of human’s cognition as it restricts the way people could conceive the content and images in their mind. TV’s consumers could merely form their own thinking and only follow what is utterly present on the TV. As a result, this action hinders the process of developing imagination, especially in children. Apart from the reasons mentioned above, opponents of this view may argue the following. Firstly, there is no escaping to the fact that reading books and stories enables readers to form images and information contained in the reading sources through the action of transferring sentences to illustrations. Therefore, enjoying reading accelerates their creativity and thinking abilities. Secondly, contents which are presented on TV normally not as diverse as books due to the lack of production budget. Thereby, the content of books provides a wider range of useful contents, which could enrich the process of developing creative thinking. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that the action of consuming content through reading is more effective than through watching TV.