Some people think that teachers are essential to the learning process. Others argue that students at schools and universities learn far more from other sources (such as the Internet and television) than from lessons with teachers. What are your views on this?

Many argue that teachers play a crucial role in the academic growth of the pupils while others believe that university students study better by alternative means, such as surfing the internet and watching TV programs. Academicians no doubt have made outstanding impacts in society, recently however, it is evident that the surge in technological innovations has contributed immensely to the knowledge acquisition of individuals, especially in tertiary institutions. I see the need to examine both views extensively before taking a side. To begin with, tutors in a study environment are imperative in creating a stable academic foundation for kids. That is, children in formative ages require close guidance and monitoring to better imbibe the necessary basic studies, and foster their psychological growth. For example, a school pupil who does not attend school for a reason and rather studies online from home may present with a lag in basic languages, handwriting, social studies etc. and more often than not, may stifle the child's language learning ability, manual dexterity and cognitive development. However, it is irrefutable that university students have a wider range of knowledge in their fields, all thanks to the tremendously advancing technology. To buttress this, most disciplines require mandatory research for vast acquisition which more often than not is neither provided by the lecturers nor present in the available concise handbooks. For instance, a student of business management at the University of Nigeria Nsukka clearly stated while giving his speech of appreciation that he merited the award as the best graduating student in his faculty because he devoted more time to searching the internet for further knowledge. According to him, he was rarely present for the lectures during the four-year program but did incredibly well to stand out among colleagues who were present for all learning processes. In conclusion, the more we delve into both aspects, the more we can ascertain the credibility of both views hence I partly support that teachers are essential to the learning process of pupils, nevertheless, students can learn more from other sources such as the internet and television.