In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, an increasing number of citizens globally, are adopting the usage of digital payments via smartphones applications as the primary mode of transaction. I strongly believe that this trend has multiple benefits and more about this will be discussed in this essay. To commence, digital mode of payments done by various mobile apps like paytm and gpay, provides safety and security to their customers. Individuals do not have to carry large amounts of cash for paying bills and hence, their chances of getting robbed on the streets are quite minimal. For example, a recent article in The Sunday Times reported that the incidence of pick pocketing has drastically reduced in the last decade after adoption of online payments by cellular phones. Furthermore, these newer generation of remittance are very convenient and hassle-free. Money can be sent and received just by clicking a few buttons on one’s mobile device at any time and anywhere. Therefore, they reduce the inconvenience of visiting different places for payment in person, hence, decreasing the transportation cost as well. Additionally, monetary transactions done via smartphones applications are environment friendly. All they require is a little amount of power supply and an internet connection. On the other hand, paper bills require large amount of fibre from trees, which has detrimental effects on mother nature. For instance, an article in New York Times stated that usage of paper has led to deforestation on a large scale which in turn has led to global warming. Moreover, digital payments done through mobile device software, provide the facility of transaction history. This facility can be valuable at times of dispute among individuals as these transactions can be used as a proof. Also, transaction history helps one keep check on their spending and helps one save their hard-earned money. In conclusion, usage of various apps installed in one’s smartphone for paying and receiving money has numerous benefits and I believe in future this trend will gain a lot more momentum throughout the world.