Art and music classes should not be mandatory at school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that art and music courses should not be compulsory at a school. However, I disagree with the idea for the several reasons because I think art and music can foster children’s creativity and teach the skills how to collaborate with their classmates. To begin with, it is well known that many extracurricular activities such as drawing and playing an instrument help develop one's creativity. Art and music can stimulate many different parts of the brain and let the pupils express their feelings in their own ways. Learning how to colour flowers with several different colouring tools, for instance, can teach them how to illustrate different textures and let them utilize the skills when they're working as a designer in the future job. This can be the example of creativity which can apply to the real life. Also, art and music can teach the students how to collaborate with their classmates. Sharing their experiences of the same work will also help them understand each other more thoroughly. For example, when students take part of an orchestra as a player, they have to practice together for an upcoming concert. By practising together and sharing notes, they can learn how to accommodate while they are learning not only focusing on their own but also compromising with other instruments as well. In conclusion, art and music courses in the school are expected to have positive impacts on pupils since it can raise their creativity and teach them to be more cooperative. For those reasons, I insist we should keep art and music classes mandatory.