Poor infrastructure hinders under-developed countries from progressing and modernising. Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In under-developed countries, inadequate infrastructure serves as a significant obstacle to progress and modernization. Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by the foreign aid. I disagree with this statement and would like to further delve into this statement. One reason why solely focusing on improving infrastructure with foreign aid may not be the most effective approach is because under-developed countries often face with other challenges which are more crucial and priority is needed to tackle these. Pressing issues such as healthcare, education and socio-economic disparities also impede progress. For example, lack of access to quality healthcare and education can be damaging, ultimately hampering the workforce needed to contribute to infrastructure projects. Furthermore, simply priotizing infrastructure development without addressing underlying pressing issues can result in unsustainable outcomes. Countries may find themselves with debt from large-scale infrastructure projects that which may not benefit immediately. For example, construction of a highway or a building may not be beneficial if the majority cannot accesss due to affordibility. In conclusion, while infrastructure development is vital, it should not be the sole focal point of foreign aid efforts. Addressing and prioritising critical aspects such as healthcare, education and socio-economic disparities, the country can create a more comprehensive foundation for sustainable future.