The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that science should be at humankind’s service in order to enhance the quality of life rather than explore new unknown areas. I totally agree with this idea due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following sentences. To embark on, scientific findings exert an axial role in dealing with unsolved issues. Nowadays, one of the most challenging issues is the international shortage of food particularly in developing countries with low sources and poor economic conditions. To elaborate on my point, it is of paramount importance for governments to provide sufficient food supplies as its limitations can lead to detrimental effects on people, especially kids. To cite an example, statistics show that over 50% of African children are on the verge of starvation due to a lack of adequate nutrition. Hence, knowledge can contribute to the betterment of the agriculture industry by using low-impact pesticides and fertilizers as well as functional farming methods. Additionally, climate change contributes to people’s deaths as its consequences are hazardous to the whole globe. To present a better explanation, global warming imposes significant risks to the public owing to the fact that it is capable of causing natural disasters such as floods, drought, hurricanes, changes in rainfall patterns, etc. To cite an example, according to a survey conducted at Tehran University, 500,000 people have lost their lives since 2020 due to floods. Hence, there is an urgent need to tackle this issue with fundamental measurements and researchers have to make all their attempts to decrease the side effects of this phenomenon. To sum up, as discussed in the above paragraphs, I totally agree with the idea that the well-being of human beings is the most significant factor for scientists to improve properly compared to other areas of research because of the hardships which people have been dealing with in recent times.