These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, travelling abroad is more common among people than in the past. For many countries, it has brought a better economy, while some have suffered from losing their custom. This essay discusses the positives and negatives of tourism and draws some conclusions. On the one hand, tourism can be beneficial to the economy because tourists not only bring money to their destination, but also they produce and enhance many jobs. In my local city, for instance, there is a well-known tourist attraction that has made the local people build some accommodation and recruit many local individuals. Moreover, it can be a fantastic way to show your culture and traditions to the world. Olympics and the World Cup are two great examples of this effect, and many countries try to indicate their customs in these events. On the other hand, tourism can be harmful to the environment because many people do not care enough and hurt the jungles and seas by putting litter. In recent years, for example, the Caspian Sea has been polluted due to tourism. Furthermore, many cultures can be affected by tourism and people may lose their traditions. Clearly, tourists bring their culture to their destinations and they can significantly change local people ’s culture. In conclusion, although tourism can be a great way to show your traditions and also have a positive influence on economic conditions, it can be harmful to the natural environment and traditional values. From my point of view, the merits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks if the government and local people are aware of the consequences and have a plan for this issue.