One of the consequence of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The rise of new medical techniques and the advent of revolutionary technologies in the field have had a major impact on life expectancy. As more people have access to better medical care, increased longevity comes as a product of it. A series of advantages and disadvantages arise owing to the fact that these larger elderly populations are out of the workforce. In this essay, I will give my personal opinion on why I think that the advantages of better medical treatments outweigh the cons of it. First and foremost, one key point should be demystified and that is; that the reduction of the workforce could be translated to less productivity, which is problematic for the economy, due to how unsustainable it is to maintain its inhabitants if fewer people are actually working to produce the goods necessary to prevail. That is to say, if a country has disproportionately more senior citizens, the weight to maintain the living standards falls upon the younger citizens. Nevertheless, this has proven to be wrong as the introduction and development of means of production, have also impacted the labour market. On top of that, the vacancies left by retired individuals are now being filled with very productive tools, one could mention artificial intelligence, which is now capable of driving trucks without human supervision, it is a perfect illustration of the benefits of innovation. Secondly, it is my understanding that quality of life has skyrocketed for the vast majority of countries, at least in the Western hemisphere, perhaps it is equally important to take this as a clear indicator for the advantages that these inventions bring to society. If governments and companies manage to drive the economy in a way that fewer people are required in certain industriesand industries, at the same time provide the incentives necessary to thrive, maybe it could spark a new era with new lifestyles, the likes of which we have never seen before. Increasing productivity that no longer requires human intervention in the process, or at the bare minimum, while maintaining living standards for the common person is the pipedream that has been in our imagination for a long time. To conclude, at first glance it may appear to be quite problematic for the economy in the short term, because of the lack of manpower. However, if we aspire to work less and dedicate ourselves to other leisure activities, we must construct the circumstances that make it possible, and that is only possible with the help of paradigm-changing tools. Only then, the pros of having an ageing population would not represent a conflict to the new generations.