Write about the following topic : All children should study a foreign language in school, starting in their earliest grades, To what extent do you agree or disagree with statement? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many believe that it is essential for children to learn a foreign language at the earliest possible grade. In my opinion, it is not optimal for the learning experience of the children and it will place a high demand on school systems to employ qualified teachers. It is observed that young children tend to pick up new languages faster due to the plasticity of their brain, and as they learn implicitly, the more exposure they get, the more they can absorb. For example, researches have shown that those who learn a new language fast are usually coming from a bilingual family, in which their parents also speak the language at home. However, it also poses challenges as there is limited amount of time scheduled for learning foreign languages, making it difficult to allow the students to be fully immersed in the languages taught. Hence, if young children only learn a new language in school, it is challenging to set up the required amount of time and the accurate environment to optimize the learning experience for them. Moreover, to teach children in the earliest grade requires specialised training, and not every teacher is qualified for the job. What more difficult is to find a qualified teacher with the proper training and skillsets to teach a certain language at a very young age. The recruitment process may put a stress on the school system, and it could be costly to find a suitable candidate. Additionally, even if a candidate can be found, more training might be required to facilitate the teachers with skills and knowledge that are suitable for teaching such young individuals. In conclusion, requiring young children to learn new languages in an early age will not be a good idea, as they require great amount of exposure due to their learning pattern. Furthermore, it is difficult to find qualified teachers for the jobs.