Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, there has been a common belief that one should be allowed to keep as much money as one earns and not be taxed by authorities. The writer, however, remains unconvinced because of the rich’s responsibility for social development, despite those emphasizing the over-reliance of the poor. Initially, it is crucial to acknowledge that the wealthier must be accountable for enhancing social living conditions. Typically, governments across the globe will use the money gained from taxing individuals at all economic levels in society as a whole to invest in the improvement of public amenities, medical centres, educational systems, and accommodation, for instance, thereby raising people’s living quality. For this reason, should there be no money, especially the income tax of citizens, authorities will be unable to pay for these developments, consequently resulting in the downturn of social living standards and other future social problems such as untreatable disorders and a lack an intelligent workforce threatening the development of society afterwards. Some sceptics, nevertheless, contend that the poor will become over-reliant on the rich’s money to pay for their living costs. Specifically, Vietnam is a prime example of this, where countless citizens, especially those coming from disadvantaged family backgrounds, opt for not working to live their whole lives since there are monthly subsidies from local states, thus never being able to escape from poverty. To a certain extent, this is credible, but it is vital to recognize that those who have to seek others’ assistance and decide not to work must have suffered from difficult circumstances, being disabled, for instance, thus leading these individuals to become incapable of working. It is, therefore, impossible for those people to pay for tax as others, so instead wealthier should be responsible for improving their living conditions. In conclusion, even though some justify the poor’s overdependence on the money of the rich, it has been demonstrated that this money is essential for both their own and social living quality enhancement. Moreover, by the wealthy paying taxes, the wealth gap that is the root cause of other social issues will be bridged positively.