Some people say that what individuals do to protect the environment cannot make difference, others say that individuals can protect the environment. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

Whether or not individuals can do anything to ensure the environment stays safe is a controversial discussion point. While some people say that if everyone takes action, drastic changes will take place, opponents such as this writer believe that what an individual does has little effect on the environment and only the government is able to help improve the situation. First of all, it is a fact that an individual can hardly change anything with regard to the environment. This is due to the case when one person makes an effort and it is likely to be obscured in the environmental destruction that takes place around the world. Additionally, as no immediate effects can be seen from their effort, it is hard for individuals to continue with their work. The European Environmental Agency (EEA) recently published data regarding recycling, and it has been shown that in Europe, only 3 out of 10 people recycle their trash responsibly. However, some argue that the efforts of individuals do indeed matter. Their point states that if the world is going to fight pollution issues then it needs to involve the individuals ’ efforts. They also say that if everyone does manage to put in some work to ensure the safety of the environment then it will cause positive changes to occur. While their point is valid in some parts, a coordinated and planned effort will need to happen to be effective in dealing with pollution or climate change. Therefore, it is the writer’s opinion that it is the government that will be the one to make individuals ’ efforts worth it. This is mostly due to the fact that most environmental problems are as vast and hard to solve as they are detrimental. Thus, individuals can work with the government to plan a change in attitudes and actions taken by people worldwide to be effective in dealing with these issues. For example, the EEA suggests that the European governments can host schemes related to reducing car usage in order to reduce air pollution. In conclusion, although individuals work can create positive trends in environmental issues, it is quite useless when done on their own and better requires the assistance of the government worldwide to increase effectiveness. Hence, it is suggested by this author that personal effort to improve the environment will not do much.