In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Over the years it has been a conspicuous trend of having self-owned houses rather than using temporary abodes. There could be several reasons for this and I believe it is extremely positive to have a personal home. There are myriad causes why most people purchase a property. It is a well-known fact to own a residence which naturally brings a feeling of security and comfort. The rationale behind this might be that there is no solidity as a person has to move from one place to another after the expiration of the lease contract which is not only an arduous but also an expensive task. Another reason would be the residents can easily modify their homes and install many facilities such as solar panels on their rooftops to save electricity. From a financial perspective, becoming a homeowner is a great investment. Given the fact that the price soars over time, it will reap benefits in the future. Furthermore, there could be some problems in the case of living in someone’s place. Firstly, the rental fee might go up annually due to the circumstances. For example, in the Netherlands, the cost of renting rises yearly in line with the property evaluation done by the local government. The tenants are bound by certain rules, regulations and obligations in the lease agreement. Finally, living in a rented area could invade privacy which is frustrating, especially in shared apartments. Walls and doors are not completely soundproof which is one of the negative points of house sharing which normally happens in big European cities. In conclusion, being the owner of a residency is a positive situation than renting accommodation since it provides more benefits in terms of flexibility, freedom, and finance in the long term.