Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, we are facing a large number of environmental problems. Some people believe that our biggest problem related to the environment is the extinction of specific plants and animal species, while others assert that we have more serious environmental problems that we should be concerned about. While I understand the importance of animal and plant extinction, I firmly believe these are not as important as other environmental catastrophes. On the one hand, many hold the opinion that our main environmental problem is the extinction of particular animals and plants. Extinction of plants and animals can detrimentally affect the natural cycle because all species are related together like a chain. Also, some animals are the symbol of many countries, thus, preserving them is vital. For instance, China allocated a huge portion of their budget to conserving pandas. Similarly, many animal and plant species are the prey and food of other species in the wild, if they are lost, their predators might be lost too. Despite we cannot ignore the importance of these problems, in my opinion, environmental problems related to our life are more important. On the other hand, it is perceived by some that there are more serious environmental problems than animals and plants. I firmly agree with this notion because of several factors. Firstly, climate change and air pollution are extremely important problems other than wildlife loss. For instance, according to statistics, close to 45 thousand Tehran citizens died because of air pollution. Secondly, greenhouse gases are the main cause of the depletion of the ozone layer. If the ozone layer cannot prevent ultraviolet ray emission, many people will die of cancer in the future. Lastly, environmental problems related to humans cost more than animal and plant issues significantly. For example, recycling disposable objects, removing plastic items from river surfaces, preventing deforestation, and other troubles like that can be devastating for governments economically. In conclusion, while I understand the importance of environmental problems related to animal and plant species, I believe other environmental problems that concern individuals are more important.