Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

The widespread access to information due to all cutting-edge technological tools has led to people acquiring any type of references readily. Many people argue that free circulation of texts must not be allowed because there are some priceless inventions to be kept. I staunchly believe that humankind should have access without boundaries to any type of academic resources. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To begin with, all students need to have access to high-quality resources in order to obtain reliable information because humanity has to support their ideas on scientific documentation. As a consequence of this, places in which people study as well as perform research, either schools or universities, should not only teach their students where to find correct data but also give them free tools for searching the information. For example, in Colombia, all universities have access to worldwide databases because the government has signed some international rules in order to eliminate the big barrier accessing to information which has restricted our scientific development. Additionally, it is well-known that professionals who have studied any type of career have to read the most recent guidelines in order to offer their most innovative tools to the population. As a consequence of this, access to information is required during our whole life even for people who have retired. For instance, medical doctors must base their diagnosis and treatments on techniques that have shown the best evidence due to their impact on reducing morbidity and mortality as well as improving the quality of life. Nevertheless, hundreds of physicians have to pay for access to worldwide resources. To sum up, not only students but also professionals should have free access to scientific information. The first group should acquire knowledge based on the best references by avoiding access to inappropriate content, and the second one should execute their actions based on the best evidence.