Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The number of humans in the world has increased substantially over the years, slowly but steadily turning into a massive environmental catastrophe. It is my own contention that although the excess population is one of the most concerning issues in the contemporary world alongside others like plastic waste and carbon emissions. First and foremost, there are over 8 billion humans inhabiting the distinctive geolocations of the world. Statistically, human-caused activities are placed at the most impactful factors that pollute our environment. To illustrate, overpopulation drives companies to stick to burning fossil fuels so that they can keep up with the ever-rising energy demand, therefore, releasing poisonous carbon gasses into the upper atmosphere, and expediting the greenhouse effect all over the world. To cite an example, independent air measurements depict an alarming rate of upward movement in the volume of those gasses in the environment, posing a formidable threat to humanity. As a consequence, it becomes extremely challenging to find a drinkable source of water owing to the deforestation and extravagance utilization of this finite resource. Moreover, countries with the most population are the ones that undergo the most serious implications. A correlation factor between the number of people and damage to the environment illustrates a positive trend, where a higher number indicates more damage caused to the environment. For example, overpopulation is a chief culprit behind the uncontrolled expansionism of urban cities, thus, deliberately causing existing flora and fauna to disappear. In conclusion, crowdedness is indeed the leading cause of environmental problems that we encounter today since all other factors are either inferior or originated from it.