In some countries around the world men and women are having children later in life. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

It is true that a wide range of couples in current society delay parenthood later in life. While plenty of factors may lead to this phenomenon, they may have different impacts. There are many reasons why people decide to have the next generation later in life. Firstly, a greater number of people pursue higher education or further research in particular areas at universities. Hence, it is more likely that their entry into the workplace and their plans to have children will be postponed. Secondly, the high cost of living is one of the factors. It is never a simple task to raise a child, as it involves a variety of spending such as housing, milk powder, and diapers. The education fee will be another additional substantial expense as the child ages. This is challenging for couples with stable incomes, not to mention those who have only entered society recently. Finally, advances in medical technology have made it possible to have a baby later. As a result, people who are over 30 years old are not concerned about the potential risks associated with having children with high-tech assistance. I believe that this trend will have an influence on both families and society. From a family perspective, older parents might have more financial stability and life experience, potentially benefiting their kids, and couples may have fewer children, leading to smaller family size and providing more resources available per child. However, they may face health challenges related to age, fewer siblings, and extended family connections. On a social level delayed childbearing may contribute to an ageing population, which can strain social services and healthcare systems as the proportion of elder individuals increases. In conclusion, while factors from both society and individuals’ concerns have contributed to this trend delaying parenthood, the impacts on society and people could not be ignored simultaneously.