Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods re- flect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the moment, society's needs are not reflected through sold things; it is the power of advertising that plays a significant role in the high selling rate of consumer goods. I do not agree with the statement because people buy items preferably through the list of primary and secondary needs and advertisement only supports as a communication bridge from the producers to the consumers. The sold items indicate the public's needs. Generally, this trend comes from the research in one of the popular universities in the United States of America which said that people always prioritize their needs by three categories, primary, secondary, and tertiary. The desire to have some items is often put aside to fulfil their primary first. For instance, parents prefer prioritizing diapers for their baby first rather than following their want to have an ice cream. This is because diapers are their primary and the latter is just a complementary. Therefore, the items that have already been sold reflect the society's necessary requirements. However sometimes, as a bridge to get customers aware of some product, an advertisement is required to be carried out. Advertisements, on the other hand, indeed influenced their audiences through call-to-action methods to convert their curiosity into ownership. However, nowadays, their target market has fully understood that it is just a trick of marketing. Critical thinking and mindset are needed indisputably prior to having the items. Thus, any kind of advertisement, recently, only counts as a way to communicate with the audience in order to make them know and aware of the products. Just like the Biore body soap in convenience stores as an example, they advertise their product on social media, nevertheless, their selling rate is stable since people know it is just a different type of body wash, they could have the cheapest one as long it is still a bar of soap. In conclusion, The writer does not agree with the initial argument. People, these days, prefer to buy things based on their categorized needs. Furthermore, they also know that there are call-to-action marketing methods in advertising, thus, they are always critical and do the thinking before buying.