Some people say that governments should spend more money taking care elderly people while others think that government spending should be spent on the education of young people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The welfare of the country's population has always been a priority for the government. While few believe that the proportion of money spent to take care of the aged population should exceed the expenditure made on educating the youth, others opine that the future of the community is dependent on its adolescents, and thus more money should be used to educate people. In my view, both the young and the old are equally important to the nation, thus an equal amount should be spent on study and caregiving for seniors due to their significant roles in shaping society. On the one hand, the life expectancy of older people provides a clear answer to the services offered to this category. When the government invests its money in medical, infrastructural and other basic amenities, we get a true picture of how the person is treated or served in society. High death rates due to medical conditions or lack of food, water and shelter indicate the negligence of the authorities in terms of investment in survival needs. Moreover, our seniors being our role models and taxpayers during their working age, helped the economy to progress. Therefore, the state should do all that it can to ensure that its efforts are worthwhile working for the nation. Our elders should never feel that they are a burden. To reward them, the authorities in many nations have constructed special homes, which are subsidized and many programs promote discounts for seniors. Even the banks offer a high rate of interest on their savings. Such small gestures from the government make the elderly group proud and their blessings are a boon to the country's growth. A recent study by the University of Toronto reveals that an old person lives a better quality and quantity of life when the government looks after them when no one else does. Money invested in the construction of old-age homes, long-term care facilities and even making priority lanes at the airport, all lead to happy and healthy senior living. On the other hand, teenagers are the future of a country, and thus money invested in educating them goes a long way. Easy student loans with subsidized interest rates, scholarships and academic achievements are some areas where developed countries have proved that expenditure in providing world-class information is beneficial. Free education for all until a certain age,is a slogan, well adopted in the richest countries like U.S.A. and Canada. This strategy encourages even the ones who are poor and uninterested in gaining academic qualifications. A literate community is the real wealth of the nation. This has been illustrated by the U.S.A., which continuously runs scholarship schemes for high-schoolers to enrol in eminent Universities and hence motivates its youngsters to become the supreme power in the world. Ergo, the government's spending capacity towards learning should be emphasized. In conclusion, the money collected from its taxpayers should be utilized to its optimum level, in imparting education and also taking care of its senior citizens.