In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In industrial countries, average longevity is rising, resulting in some negative impacts on citizens and councils. This essay will discuss the disadvantages of this matter as well as some ways to tackle them. To begin with, there are several negative downsides to this matter. Firstly, a greater tax burden for working adults will be attributed to an aging population. More and more people reach retirement age, which allows them to receive a pension. This subsidy does not require paying tax, thereby placing tax pressure on adults to maintain the development of a country. Additionally, the aging population will see a rise in healthcare demand, which is completely free for the elderly in some countries. The budget spent on this area will be a burden for governments. However, there are various actions that governments could take to tackle the above problems. First of all, an increase in the retirement age will be necessary. The authorities had better increase the working age up to 65 for females and 70 for males due to the superior living standards these days, which help the elderly still work more productively. Secondly, policymakers ought to consider migration incentives. These encouragements are partly increasing the number of adolescents who pay taxes. Australia and Germany are two good examples of this issue, as more and more people are going to migrate to these countries to reside and work. Finally, national budgets will need to be taken from other areas and spent on medical care. In conclusion, taxes and healthcare are two significant problems of the aging process among people in well-off countries, however, there are some methods to address them.