It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views

People often believe that the death penalty is effective in preventing serious crimes while others think the life-long sentence is more likely to discourage potential offenders from committing illegal acts. I partially agree with the latter, for more severe experiences they would have to make amends for their sins regardless of the death penalty being an extreme form of punishment. On the one hand, the death penalty has an incredible effect in deterring horrible wrongdoings since many suspects will be afraid of being killed by the authorities without their intentions. In other words, the growing sense of horror toward the intense punishments such as hanging and electric shock encouraged them to stop terrible murders and other evil crimes. Moreover, many suspects will regret that their future dreams and goals in future still remain unaccomplished when their life is forcefully terminated, which makes it less likely for them to commit horrible crimes. For instance, the number of serious crimes has dropped dramatically in the United States since it introduced the death penalty. Therefore, more potential offenders are likely to reconsider their acts to avoid the harsh consequences before it is too late. On the other hand, the life-long sentence will lead to a declining number of severe crimes as culprits experience the intense restrictions of their freedom in prison. Indeed, as they are forced to spend long periods of time in locked cells, being heavily guarded by the authorities, they often suffer from an intense level of stress. Consequently, some prisoners even have deteriorating mental conditions as they are not allowed to go out to meet their friends and family. Furthermore, spending a prolonged time in a locked space can damage their health due to the constant lack of exercise and access to sufficient medical care. Thus, the acknowledgement that they cannot be freed for good makes it even more difficult for them to accept the harsh consequences of their wrongdoings. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the life-long sentence is more effective in preventing terrible crimes since many criminals do not want to lose their freedom. However, the death penalty can also reduce the number of serious crimes because of the unimaginable fear of the way of their dying.