Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that technology has permeated every aspect of our lives. The ubiquity of modern devices has been instrumental in the remarkable improvement in living standards over the past few decades. However, some people argue that truly groundbreaking innovations are behind us, and the benefits of the latest technologies pale in comparison to those of old. While this may be true to some extent, I believe the nature of the changes created by recent technological advancement is different, and thus it is pointless to compare the two. It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that early technologies were more life-changing. This is due to the unprecedented leap in productivity and, by extension, wealth that these innovations brought about. For example, earth-shattering inventions such as electricity and automobiles allowed humans to exponentially increase their production output and meaningfully improve their living standards.Given the radical changes created by these technologies, it seems sensible why many are saying that the latest innovations can not match the ones conceived early on. However, notwithstanding the vast improvement in people’s lives that early technological progress helped generate, I would be imprudent to undermine the contribution of our latest breakthroughs. While the increase in work efficiency that they offer may seem marginal, new innovations have drastically transformed other aspects of our lives. For instance, the advent of the Internet has ushered in an era where knowledge is at everybody’s disposal, and medical developments have markedly increased human life expectancy. Human lives do not center around wealth alone, and these improvements are equally important to society. In Conclusion, I am convinced that both early and recent progress in technology contributes to the betterment in our lives, but their magnitude can not be compared.