Some people think that study of history is little use to us.others believe that studying history helps us to know the present. discuss both the viewpoints and give your own opinion

There is considerable debate on the topic of whether studying history leaves us practical benefits or not especially in the evolving changing world. I completely agree studying history promises humans a better understanding of present life. The view that studying history has little practical benefit is driven by two reasons. On the macro-level, history usually contains much overdue culture, knowledge and living habits. It might be a waste of time for individuals or entities to study these overdue mindsets, considering the high sunk costs that this conventional knowledge would become less useful in the fast-paced world. From the micro-level standpoint, those people majoring in history would gain less competitive advantage in the job market due to extreme skill mismatch compared to those who study practical disciplines like computer science. The less-than-satisfied salary leads individuals to deviate from investigating history to forge practical skill sets. However, I do agree that history is a necessary intermediate for us to better develop the current world from important aspects and make accurate decisions for policy makers and individuals. Economists investigated the history to summarize the economic cycle, a knowledge that lays a foundation for the national government to take necessary initiatives when it comes to the recession period. Studying history will also remind humans to attach importance to the environment. Investigating the extinction of dinosaurs or other endangered animals will subtly be a warning sign for humans to mitigate the risk of natural disasters and adapt to climate change. In conclusion, the practical benefits of studying history are undeniable and will lay a foundation for sustainable world development in some important aspects like economy and environment.