Many university students feel literature boring and unnecessary. Why is this case? Is there any benefit for this?

There is a fact that several higher education students find literature tedious and unessential. From the perspective of the writer, the primary cause for this comes from the teacher systems but it has many beneficial effects on human lives. Initially, it is apparent that the crucial reason regards the quality of teachers at schools. Indeed, an engaging teacher who can energize the class or even has in-depth knowledge and teaching skills has more abilities to make students have more interest in literature. In contrast, an inexperienced teacher does not have enough teaching skills and methods and simply teaches their students based on the predefined plan. As a result, their enthusiasm for this field of study will decline in the long term and even become their hated subject. Take the Vietnamese education systems in the past as an example, according to many surveys recently, there was over 70% of students dislike literature due to the poor standard of teachers. Regarding the advantage of this subject, it can be seen that literature can broaden student’s horizons in different ways. To clarify, in the science world, the researchers are just aware of everything as its nature like a cat is a normal animal with four legs and smooth fur. Conversely, in the artistic world, it is not only considered a friendly friend but also seems to be a hero or a symbol of a culture. Hence, through literature, students can gain deeper insights into the world so it will be useful for them to manage lots of difficult circumstances in the near future. To sum up, the main reason for this issue is the quality of teachers at school. However, if students find literature as their favourite subject, they can have a widespread perspective.