In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge of experience

When someone gets older in Britain, they usually will live together with people who are their age and be taken care of by nurses. The government often has to pay for this service. In my opinion, the one that should pay for taking care of older people is their family, not the government. This is because the elderly are the family's responsibility, not the government's. First and foremost, the one who should take the responsibility of taking care of the old family member is their own family. They should not give the task of taking responsibility of their elder to the authority, due to the fact that in the past it was them that took care of the family. For example, when the elders are still at a young age, they don’t neglect the responsibility to take care of their family, on the other hand, they are being responsible and make sure their family is convenient. In my view, taking care of older family members is one of many ways to pay respect to them. Secondly, the government already has many responsibilities, so taking care of older population should not be their priority. Despite the fact that the citizens already paid the taxes and it could be used for services like paying nurses to take care of older people, I think it is better to use the tax money for something more useful to the community. For instance, the authorities can use the funds to build free medical services, so that numerous people can do free consultations for their health. In conclusion, the one who should pay for taking care of older people is their own family. Due to the fact that the government still has many duties to be fulfilled, taking care of the elderly is their family task.