Influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

In the past few years, humans have had an impact on the world’s ecosystem. This essay will discuss the negative impacts related to this followed by various solutions to tackle this issue. The first and major problem that humans have caused is deforestation. People have cut down many trees, causing animals to lose their habitats. If animals don’t have a place to live, they may try to migrate to other places. If they are unable to adapt to the new surroundings due to many predators or lesser food, they may die and eventually, that species would become extinct. Another problem that led to the loss of biodiversity is pollution. There are many forms that could affect animals such as water and land. If plastic waste is thrown in the water, marine animals may consume it, thinking that it’s food. This could kill them, causing a reduction in sea creatures. If land pollution occurs, animal habitats may be filled with waste, which may harm them. Moreover, there are several ways to tackle this issue. Firstly, the government should encourage firms and individuals to plant more trees (reforestation) by providing more information on the impacts. Firms could implement a scheme where one tree is planted for every order placed. This would increase the number of trees being planted. Furthermore, less plastic should be used. This can be done by reducing the number of plastic bags used. Shops should stop providing them; instead, they should provide paper bags or charge a fee if customers want plastic ones. In conclusion, loss of biodiversity is caused by the actions of humans such as deforestation and pollution. This issue could be solved by the interference of the government, a reforestation scheme and reducing the use of plastic.