The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that scientific effort must be targeted toward improving individuals' quality of life. I agree with this statement because the main core of science is to remove obstacles that stand against people and the ethical consideration behind any scientist's discovery forces him to root in his mind people. One of the main reasons why science should solely focus on human thrive is that what is science innovated for. Early scientists started their projects before the dawn of culture to help mankind through their journey of life. However, this reason recently started to fade and, unfortunately, scientists nowadays are looking for funding and revenue more than the main cause. For example, many of the current innovations were sold to famous companies, so that these companies can use these discoveries as a method of earning. The other main reason is the ethics behind science. The goal of all science branches is to simplify our lives. Take law as an example, it is meant to help us to build a strong, well-organised, and out-of-criminal community. Medicine is the branch of science that helps patients back to their normal lives or at least alleviates their symptoms. While all these branches are bonded by ethical bands to serve humanity, some of them are deviating to serve other purposes. For example, instead of making people's lives easier in developing countries treatment prices are out of their budget and science in this situation devating away from its core. In conclusion, while I totally agree that science should entirely focus on improving people's lives, I also believe, nowadays, science is serving an agenda other than people's main concerns.