In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach in any destination. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

Nowadays, we face impressive developments in the forms of transportation. While many individuals argue that using a bike is the best alternative for travelling in urban and suburban areas because of its advantages, it should be considered that there are some potential disadvantages as well. Firstly, the diverse positive points of bike riding seem undoubted. Riding a bicycle can help people benefit from low-cost exercise in today’s speedy society. The public can improve their physical and mental health simultaneously by using bikes, besides the positive impacts that it has on the environment, especially the air quality of overcrowded districts in cities by reducing the emissions of exhaust fumes and also the decline of noise pollution. Moreover, this vehicle has a low maintenance expense compared to other means of transportation which makes it the most desirable vehicle for every urban commuter. On the other hand, due to the fact that riding a bicycle can be time and energy-consuming, it is not reasonable for a person to use a bike for long distances or steep slopes areas. It becomes a more problematic restriction for the elderly or people who suffer from any kind of disability. In later cases, using public transportation or driving a car may be considered a more viable solution. Furthermore, it should not be forgotten that the availability of suitable and safe parking lots in different areas plays an important role in encouraging or discouraging people from applying this form of transport on a regular basis. In conclusion, whereas many people may prefer to ride a bicycle for their daily travels thanks to its various benefits, the other side of this matter as its drawbacks should be taken into consideration.