In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, people have inadequate and wrong informations about homes. In some nations, citizens want to have knowledge about their homes or constructs where they live. In this essay, reasons why people search for their places’ previous conditions will be investigated and how to do it will be explained. People ’s desires for the past of their homes arise from numerous significant factors. The most crucial one is to know the resilience of their homes against a devastating earthquake and to prepare for it. For example, if a denizen know her home’s constructional problems which come from the past, she can rectify it immediately. Therefore, possible horrible consequences of a powerful earthquake can be overcomed in advance. Another reason is to solve potential infrastructual infrastructure problems which were encountered before. Thus, these kinds of problems are solved and residents do not waste time to eliminate them when they occur. There are some ways for gaining insights that illuminate individuals about their buildings. Firstly, municipalities in some countries provide useful informations about past changes and current situation of buildings. For example, the Municipality of Istanbul offers a website for the residential use. This service is not only for official buildings but also for every single apartment in the city. Moreover, users are not charged at all, it is totally free. Secondly, building consultants are beneficial too. For instance, they arrive a building, look into details and prepare a report which shows all details of a building, including its past. However, this is not an affordable service for some people. To sum up, preparing for earthquakes and solving problems in advance are factors that influence people for researching the past of their places. Moreover, municipalities’ free services and hiring consultants can be insightful for it.