Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism of their teachers. Other think it will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are some opinions that are divergent on whether high school pupils should be allowed to evaluate and criticize their teachers or whether this could be perceived as being disrespectful. From my perspective, I favour that constructive feedback from pupils could do wonders for our education system. Besides, this essay will analyze both points of view. On the one hand, proponents of the idea that students not be allowed to make assessments regarding their teachers claim that this can result in disrespect and lead to poorly behaved students. It is common knowledge that students should look up to their teachers and obey all of their instructions. For example, having a student who is impulsive and inexperienced, criticizing a professional teacher is not appropriate in many cultures. In addition, even the majority of high school pupils are usually not mature enough to make personal criticism, which contributes nothing to the improvement of quality of the education. On the other hand, many people, including myself, believe that it is beneficial for both pupils and teachers if there is an open environment where students can freely express their opinions, including their thoughts about their teacher. To be specific, this two-way communication allows pupils to actively think about the lessons, and especially what they want their teacher to improve. Furthermore, thanks to student feedback, teachers might recognize their own weaknesses and find ways to make adjustments to their pedagogical skills. Consequently, their lessons are likely to become more interesting as they suit both parties, which might result in a better learning outcome. In summary, students might not be the best people to comment on their teachers. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that encouraging pupils to provide a relevant evaluation of their teacher's teaching method is advantageous for the education system.