In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In the past, good or bad harvest was critical for people to survive. Nowadays, agriculture developed significantly, however, in some places in the world people still suffer from famine. There are several factors that could explain the situation and there are the number of actions to tackle it. The most obvious are war, which led to poverty, and, consequently, to starvation. Statistically, hunger is more common in developing countries that suffer from military conflicts, as their leaders are careless about citizens and focus on their own ambitious plans. Furthermore, the infrastructures in poor countries are not developed enough to make food affordable to all populations. The best example is the Democratic Republic of Congo, one of the poorest places in the world, whose residents live below the hunger line. Unfortunately, there is no magic solution that can stop war, though, some measures can help to improve the situation. In the short term, international organizations, like the UN, should help to improve roads and warehouses. In addition, to support local people with the preservation and distribution of foreign food, at least to schools and refugee camps. However, by implementing those solutions people should consider not to create a full dependence on the foreign volunteering force, but get local youth involved, so in future, in the long term, they can continue those projects independently. Moreover, more sharing of resources and cooperation between the neighbourhood countries and regions can help to overcome poverty and ensure food security. To conclude, advanced agriculture is only one side of the coin, and it is not enough to leave famine in the past, as long as wars and poverty exist. To fight hunger all nations should work together and improve infrastructures to ensure all citizens could be fed.